What I learnt from having dinner with Richard Feynman?

If you had a time travel machine and could go to dinner with anyone in history who would it be? What would you want to learn? What kind of experience would you love to have?

Write down your answers.

For me the answer is simple. I would love to meet Nobel Laureatte Richard Feynman the “Father of Nanotechnology”. I love Feynman because of his hunger for finding things out, his enthusiasm and genius. He makes me want to be a better scientist, better teacher, better father and have more fun with learning.  He makes me want to be world class at everything I am interested in.

Watch this video and you’ll also fall in love with Richard Feynman. It is gives a fascinating insight into Feynman’s thinking and character. I watched it over dinner with Rihana. Poor women – she thinks I love Richard Feynman more than her.  I’ll have to make some nano diamonds using CVD to make it up to her.

“The 1981 Feynman Horizon is the best science program I have ever seen. This is not just my opinion – it is also the opinion of many of the best scientists that I know who have seen the program… It should be mandatory viewing for all students, whether they be science or arts students.” – Nobel Laurreate Prof Sir Harold Kroto.

Decide now to make sure that you experience the immense pleasure of finding things out. Use Richard Feynman as your role model.

Watch the video 10 minutes at a time and ponder on what he is saying. What have you learnt? How can you apply it to your life now?

Leave a Reply

